A Japanese producer made his own The Life Of Pablo without hearing the original and it’s brilliant

With Tidal being unavailable in Japan, one producer took matters into his own hands.

Though the wide release of Kanye West’s The Life Of Pablo may seem like an afterthought for some of us, it marks the album’s first release in countries without access to Tidal. That includes Japan, where a producer named TOYOMU used the delay to create a deeply bizarre and fascinating alternative.

On Imagining “The Life Of Pablo”, the producer adapts lyrics (sourced from Genius) and samples (sourced from WhoSampled) from Kanye’s original to try and recreate a record he was incapable of hearing. The resulting album places familiar sounds and lyrics in an alien context, creating something truly disorienting. It doesn’t sound anything like The Life Of Pablo as we know it, but it’s the most wonderfully strange thing you’ll hear on the internet today.

“Subscription services in Japan are too slow, most people are still using iTunes and buying CDs. I thought it might be a good idea to make the whole album without listening to it,” he tells Pigeons And Planes. Though Kanye’s album is now available internationally on Apple Music, the producer admits he still hasn’t listened to it.

Listen to Imagining “The Life Of Pablo” below, and grab it on Bandcamp it likely gets taken down.

Lee Diamond of Shock Radar covers David Bowie song "Lady Stardust"

Mark Newman "Brussells EP" and East Coast tour dates

New York native singer/songwriter Mark Newman released his Americana flavored EP- "Brussells". It's filled with articulate guitar riffs, sincere lyrics, and the voice of a bluesman who's 'lived it all' on the road. Like Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck or Neil Young, Mark Newman has brought his own brand of rock and roll to the stage and in the studio. He tours all over the world and just released- "Brussells", his best work since "Walls Of Jericho", another great collection of groovy jams and bluesy songs to drink beer to. Newman is performing a number of shows around the east coast through February in support of his new EP. DOWNLOAD BRUSSELLS and catch him live!

Fri. Jan. 29, 9 pm - Sailin' Shoes @ B.R.Y.A.C., Bridgeport, CT
Thu, Feb. 4, 8 pm - Sailin' Shoes @ The Space, Westbury
Sat. Feb. 6, 8 pm - MN solo @ ArtQuest, Steel Stacks, Bethlehem, PA
Thu. Feb. 11, 8 pm - MN Band @ Still Partner's, Sea C

Vinyl Revolution Record Show, SUNDAY MARCH 6th 2016

SUNDAY, MARCH 6th 2016
The Vinyl Revolution Record Show at
Bohemian Hall & Beer Garden.
• Expanded show! • TWO rooms!! • 55 dealer tables!!!
• 1,000's of rare and collectible vinyl records!!
• Free raffle ticket with entry, door prizes throughout the day!
• Record supplies available!
• Get your favourite records cleaned by vendor Steve Lobmeier.
• DJ Laura Rebel Angel spins all day!
• NYC's oldest beer garden!
• Authentic Czech & Slovak delicacies.

Showtime: 11am - 5pm
Admission: $3.00
Early Admission: 10am - 11am / $5.00

Bohemian Hall & Beer Garden:
29-19 24th Avenue
Astoria, New York 11102
Phone: (718) 274-4925

more info:
Official Website:
Visit us on Facebook:

Gnarly Karma's new album "Classic Breeze" shines its way to the top!

Gnarly Karma are playing shows around the city this month. They have a new release (Classic Breeze) that's groovy and funky and right at the tip of the iceberg for new bands coming out of Long Island, New York. There is a burgeoning music scene on the island where most of the bands are fusing new and old influences in a special way. Gnarly Karma mixes Rock, Funk, Jazz, Reggae, Ska and any other musical genre you can think of. They're a one of a kind band led by a stellar singer/songwriter- Mike Renert. The album goes through a lot of moods. "Been There Before" is a great example of how soothing and soulful their music can get. It's a love song with a driving waltz. "Directions" has a vaudevillian drum beat that perfectly blends Rock and Jazz. One is reminded of the jam band groups of the 1990's like Dave Matthews & Phish but Gnarly Karma are more about their songs than full-on jamming. Not that they can't jam out with the best, but Classic Breeze is more for the songwriters and song lovers. It's a collection of songs to get you through the day. Like all classic records, each song paints a different picture with lyrics you can relate to. It's a solid debut and I highly recommend seeing them live in action!

You can download the album from iTunes HERE.
Next show is at The Bitter End, January 23 

Lee Ranaldo playing Joseph Arthur's New Year's Day show at City Winery, then touring Europe (dates)

Lee Ranaldo has been playing NYC a weirdly high amount this month. That trend will continue into January: the first day of January specifically. He's opening Joseph Arthur's 6th annual New Year's Day show at City Winery. Tickets are on sale. After that, Lee does a solo acoustic tour in Europe. All dates are listed below.

Joseph Arthur stays pretty busy too, and after that show he'll hit the road with RNDM, his band with Pearl Jam's Jeff Ament. Their tour hits NYC on 3/7 at Gramercy Theatre (tix).

Watch a clip of Lee playing Sonic Youth's "Eric's Trip" with Parquet Courts at GCT15, and browse his list of tour dates, below...

Lee Ranaldo -- 2016 Tour Dates
01/01/2016 City Winery New York, NY w/ Joseph Arthur

26/01/2016 NL Amsterdam - Paradiso North
27/01/2016 BE Gent - Vooruit
28/01/2016 DK Copenhagen - Absalon
29/01/2016 DK Aalborg - Northern Winter Beat, The Utzon Center
30/01/2016 DK Aarhus - Atlas seated
31/01/2016 DE Berlin - Roter Salon
01/02/2016 CZ Prag - Akropolis
02/02/2016 AT Salzburg - Rock House
03/02/2016 AT Vienna - Schauspielhaus
05/02/2016 IT San Gemini - Degustazioni Musicali Umbria / Tempio di San Giovanni Battista
07/02/2016 CH Geneva - Antigel Festival